A new book, and a new recipe!

As of last Saturday, Within the Essence is officially for sale! You can pick up your copy here, here, or here!

One other thing that happened this weekend was that I tried a new baking recipe with two of my nieces. It’s one of the things we do together, so much that the eldest credits me for teaching her how to crack an egg. I don’t necessarily remember it, but it’s kind of cool that a tiny detail like that sticks out so much in her mind. My heart melts! Metaphorically, at least. Otherwise, that could be a problem…

Anyway, as I said earlier on this blog, I want to try and post more often for a number of reasons, and I figure adding in some baking details here and there would be a good concept to bring to the blog. So, with that in mind, I’m going to try and review some recipes that I go through—and/or ones I come up with—with a 1 out of 5 rating system. Right now, we’re going with sprinkles, but that label could change should I choose something more fitting!

So how about we dive right into the first recipe?

Recipe: Mini Doughnut Cupcakes from this book

100_8167

Ingredients:

1 cup of sugar

1 ½ teaspoons of ground cinnamon

1 package of white or yellow cake mix (and the listed ingredients)

1 tablespoon of ground nutmeg

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease muffin pan.
  • Combine sugar and cinnamon in a separate bowl.
  • Make the cake as the cake box says, but add in the nutmeg.
  • Add the batter to the pan and bake for about 10 minutes, or until lightly browned and a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Roll warm cupcakes in the sugar and cinnamon until they’re coated.

Rating: 3 out of 5 sprinkles

Now, originally, I’d planned to give this recipe the lowest rating possible, but to be fair, the first one I tried wasn’t quite done. It’s entirely possible that it took me a moment to adjust to give them a fair shake after that! Once I retried them later, they weren’t that bad! They were just… different! I could even get a sense of the doughnut flavor in them with the blended nutmeg, though I might’ve called these “muffins” instead of cupcakes if the recipe were mine. The blended ingredients came together into a fair, but admittedly unique, tasting dessert. Still, there was nothing knock-it-out-of-the-ballpark that makes me plan to remake these, so it’s hard to give them anything above a 3/5 rating.

If you want a new twist on a muffin though, this blend of nutmeg and cinnamon is an interesting way to go!

Leave a comment